Layman's Lens

Life is beautiful.

Elxn41

leave a comment »

Inner envelope, outer envelope and mailing envelope.

I was out of the country for this election so I got to vote by special ballot. It takes more envelopes than you might expect. I was also surprised that I should require postage to mail in my vote. I though mailing the government was free in Canada.

They are in the midst of an election here in Peru now as well. They had their first round of voting in early April. Since none of the 11 candidates got more than 50% of the vote, a second round will take place in June with the top 2 candidates. I wish our system had a similar way of preventing the problems associated with vote splitting (either a runoff system like in Peru or a system where each voter ranks all candidates.)  We also learned that voting is mandatory here in Peru subject to a S./100 fine.

Written by Tilak Dutta

May 4, 2011 at 7:04 am

Posted in Vote

Tagged with ,

Leave a comment